Stone Mountain State Park

Why, you might ask are Boscoe  and I resting by a fence? I wasn’t going to tackle those stairs or these.

resized_075

Or this.

I really am uncomfortable with heights and these stairs took you by waterfalls (where there have been fatalaties) cascading down the rocky mountain side. Not too far from these stairs was the remains of a log cabin, just the fireplace and chimney, actually and I couldn’t help wondering how that mother of long ago kept her young ‘uns form going over the falls. No fences or barriers way back then.

resized_095

Situated high in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, this park gives you some insight into what it must have been like for the settlers from Scotland and Ireland. Rugged, heavily forested and remote, it required a special breed to be able to survive the hardships.

Stone Mountain State Park is named for the 660 foot granite formation rising up in the mountains. It was an impressive sight from the highway, across the valley, but standing on it made you feel very small indeed.

The stone from a distance

The stone from a distance

The stone up close

The stone up close

The stone really close

The stone really close

Mountain climbers can get permits to scale the rock but the ordinary visitor can only access the rock from a hiking trail that takes you to the top. The views are stunning.

After hiking up to the rock we needed a rest

After hiking up to the rock we needed a rest

Boscoe and I take a break

Boscoe and I take a break

Some pictures of critters we saw in the mountains.

A vulture getting a bird's eye view.

A vulture getting a bird’s eye view.

Butterflies "muddling"

Butterflies drinking from a mud puddle.

They grow their spiders big in them thar hills

They grow their spiders big in them thar’ hills

This fly was 2 inches long

This fly was 2 inches long

If you look closely you can see the deer slipping into the forest.

If you look closely in the center by the tree, you can see the deer slipping into the forest.

4 comments on “Stone Mountain State Park”

  1. I guess you had to walk somewhere to take the photos but all the pictures of you, you’re sitting or lying down! Nice pics. Don’t care for the big bugs.

    • Yes, lots of walking. Up mountain paths and down wooded trails. That’s why the sitting and lying down. Some of it was quite strenuous. A nice change from sitting in the truck for days and days.
      Ruth from At Home on the Road

  2. Interested in your comment about keeping children safe. As a genealogist, I can tell you that the deaths of young people were much more common in the past…and not just from disease, either. It was a rare family that didn’t loose at least one child. Accidents frequently befell youngsters and young adults. Sometimes now I thing the safety barriers and such are overdone, but accidents are much less likely and young lives *are* saved.

    • I agree. I remember my mother shooing me out the door saying “don’t come home till lunch” or “I don’t want to see you till supper” or “be home when the street lights come on”. I shudder to think of some of the mischief I got into and never told my parents. I know I would have played at the top of the falls, its what kids do. Now kids get out for a play date and their helicopter parents have their days planned for them. I think we had more fun. But then everybody thinks their good ole’ days were better than the current times.
      Thanks for the comment, good thought.
      Ruth


Leave a Reply

